How to Remove Duplicate Contacts

Available with the Lite plan and above, as well as during the 7-day free trial

You can remove duplicates to keep customer information up-to-date, avoid sending marketing emails to the same users multiple times, and make contact navigation easier for managers. Merge duplicate contacts’ data using their first and last name, email address, and phone number.

To remove duplicates, go to “Contacts,” and click Duplicates.

Select a Merge Condition

Select a condition to merge contacts in the “Treat contact as unique if it matches” field (first and last name, email address, and phone number).

If you select multiple merge conditions, keep in mind that your contacts will be merged only if all these conditions match. For example, if you select email address and name as your merge conditions, and the system finds two contacts with the same name but different email addresses, these contacts will not be merged. The duplicate will be deleted only if both the name and email address are the same.

Select a Merge Action

This action applies only to contacts with different values ​​in the same field.

Select what to do with your duplicates during the merge.

Save older field values This option will save the oldest values ​​among the fields that differ to your merged contact. The data will be merged into the oldest contact, and the oldest information in the fields will be saved.
Save newer field values This option will save the newest values ​​among the fields that differ to your merged contact. The data will be merged into the oldest contact, but the most recent information will be saved to the fields.
Save to new fields This option will save the values that differ ​​to separate fields in your merged contact. For example, if a contact's name is the same, but their email addresses differ, then all their email addresses will be saved to separate fields.

You can process up to 10,000 contacts during one removal session.

Select a Tag for Merged Contacts

You can also assign a tag to all contacts that will be merged. To do this, select a tag from the drop-down list.

Once you finish with the settings, click Merge duplicates. You can go to other sections and pages — the removal process will not be interrupted.

Contact merging cannot be canceled once started — the process can be interrupted but not reversed.

    Rate this article about "How to Remove Duplicate Contacts"

    User Rating: 4 / 5

    Previous

    How to Work with Contact History and Comments

    Next

    How to Export Contacts

    Popular in Our Blog

    Try SendPulse today for free