How to work with contact history and comments

Available with the Lite plan and above, as well as during the 7-day free trial

When working with clients, you need to track a multitude of contacts and interact with your team. To build your workflows effectively, you can view contact history, leave comments, and attach documents to discuss them with the team.

Let's talk about how to send and view comments and see your contact history.

How to work with comments

Comments are a tool that helps you communicate with your team members more effectively, share information and reviews, store data, and solve issues.

Leave a comment

To leave a comment, go to a deal card, and type in a message in the Notes field. You can enter up to 5,000 characters, mention a team member, and attach files.

Using the Enter key, you can move a text to another line and add a paragraph. Once you type in your comment, click Send.

For example, after communicating with a client, you can add more data on their order preferences.

Mention team members

To notify a team member about a comment, type in the @ symbol, and select a person.

The selected manager will receive a notification and, by clicking it, will be able to go directly to the contact and respond to the comment.

Attach files

To add files to a comment, click the folder icon. Select a file from your storage, or upload a new file from your device.

All services share the same file storage. You can add a file of any extension except executable.

The maximum file size the free plan allows is 200 MB. Your file storage capacity is not defined by services but is set based on the storage capacity of the largest pricing plan among all services. To increase your storage capacity, upgrade your pricing plan. Read more: How to work with the file manager.

Once you upload your files, they will be available to all team members who have access to the contact and a file manager.

View comments

You can also view the entire history of communication between colleagues and quickly find the necessary documents with contact data.

Under the Notes field, you will see your contact history. To view only comments, click Comments only.

If a comment is too big, click Show more to expand it.

In history, you can't delete events, but you can delete irrelevant comments to focus on the most important information. To do this, click the three dots icon next to a comment, and select Delete.

How to work with contact history

Contact history allows you to view all the contact events that have occurred to track all the changes and steps in their execution. The history shows the contact event date and name, assignee, and corresponding pipeline data.

To view the history of a contact, open their contact card, and click All history if you have hidden it.

Let’s go over the events that can be shown in your contact history.

Creating a contact Shows that a contact was created.
Adding, changing, or removing an assignee Shows the added or removed team member.
Linking to deals and tasks Shows the new and old deal status or the pipeline to which the deal was moved.
Incoming, outgoing, and missed calls Shows the status of a call via telephony.
    Rate this article about "How to work with contact history and comments"

    User Rating: 5 / 5

    Previous

    How to manage contacts

    Next

    How to remove duplicate contacts

    Popular in Our Blog

    Try SendPulse today for free