How to Work with Tasks

You can change the status of the task you’re working on by moving it around the board, leave comments, view history, and edit its basic information in the task card.

In this article, we will show you how to work with tasks.

How to Change Your Task Status

You can change the status of the task you’re working on so that your team members can track the task progress.

You can use the following options to change your task status:

  • drag and drop the task card on the Kanban board;
  • select another status in the task card;
  • change the status of multiple tasks by using list view.

On the Kanban Board

Go to your board, and enable the “Kanban” view. Hover over a task card, and drag and drop it to another position.

Within a Task Card

Click on the task, and select your status from the dropdown menu.

Using the List View

Go to your board, and enable the “List” view. Select a task list the status of which you want to change, and click Change status.

You can change the status of all displayed tasks by selecting a checkbox in the top left corner. To change the number of displayed items, select a number in the bottom right corner.

You can also filter your tasks by status or another criteria.

How to Change an Assignee

Open the task, and select your assignee from the dropdown menu.

Read more: How to Manage Team Members.

To display all tasks, select your name in the “Assigned to” filter.

How to Edit Task Fields

As you work on a task, the information and resources needed to perform it can change. You can edit any previously added data such as priority, tags, dates, and all custom fields.

Hover over a required field, and change its value.

How to Add a Reminder

You can set a deadline for a task in the "Dates" field, and select when to notify task members and watchers about an approaching deadline by email in the "Set a reminder" field. This way, none of your employees will miss deadlines and will be notified about what task needs to be completed and when.

How to Add Files

You can attach files to a task to share them with all its members. Click + Add File, choose a file from your account storage, or upload a new file from your device.

With the free plan, you cannot upload files larger than 200 MB. The capacity of your file storage is not defined by the services themselves, but is set based on the largest storage capacity allowed by all services’ pricing plans. To increase it, choose another plan.

Read more: Bulk email service pricing, Website builder pricing, and Online course builder pricing.

It does not matter if you add your files to the email service, online course builder, or website builder — they can be added to a CRM contact or comment.

Click the meatballs icon to manage your file after it has been downloaded:

Select the "Download" option to download the file to your device.

Select the "Show in folder" option to show where the file is located in the SendPulse storage.

Select the "Remove from task" option to remove the file from this task but not from the SendPulse storage.

Select the "Delete" option to delete this file from the task and the SendPulse storage.

How to Work with Checklists

Open your task, and mark the checklist point that is already done.

To add a new checklist item, click Add item. To remove an item, hover over it, and click on the trash can icon. To move an item, just drag and drop it. To add a new checklist, click Add checklist.

Hierarchic Relations

Large tasks can be divided into subtasks. You can add or remove parent tasks or subtasks inside each task.

To add a parent task, click Add parent task. Then start typing the parent task name to choose it from your previously created tasks.

Read more: «Parent Task».

To add a subtask, click Add subtask.

You can add more subtask info the same way you added info to your task when creating it.

To remove a relation with a task, hover over the subtask in the “Subtasks” list or the “Parent task” section, and click the “Unlink” icon.

Parallel Relations

You can also add or remove the relations to another task, deal, or contact to include additional related data.

To add a relation, click “Relate to,” and select a required item: link to another task, deal, or contact. Start typing the name into the search bar, and select the necessary card.

Read more: «Add Related Items».

To remove a relation to the task, deal, or contact, hover over the relation in the “Relations” list, and click on the “Unlink” icon.

How to Subscribe to the Task

To receive information about a task’s progress, you can become a Watcher and subscribe to the task updates.

To subscribe to a task, open it, and click Subscribe.

To add a new watcher, select a user from the dropdown menu.

To display the list of all tasks you are subscribed to, select your name in the “Watcher” filter.

How to Leave a Comment

To leave comments on the task to your team, enter your message that is up to 5000 symbols, and send it.

How to View a Task History

You can also view the history of editing a deal, related links, and comments.

To display comments only, click on the “Comments only” option. To display large messages, click on the “Show More” option.

How to Change Your Task Repeat Settings

If you did not configure the “Task repeat” option when creating a task, you cannot add them later. Otherwise, you can change your task repeat time and task data. Go to the “Task templates” section, and select a template to edit.

How to Complete a Task

Once you have achieved all your task goals, you can remove it or add additional status, for example, change your task status to “Archive” to save it.

Rate this article about "How to Work with Tasks"

User Rating: 5 / 5

    Popular in Our Blog

    Try SendPulse today for free